Journey of Faith: Abraham

Series: Journey of Faith

July 12, 2020 | Dr. Wes George

Passage: Hebrews 11:8-10

Authentic faith obeys God’s clear voice.

8 By faith Abraham, when he was called, obeyed by going out to a place which he was to receive for an inheritance; and he went out, not knowing where he was going.

God often calls us into the unknown:
1. to trust Him
2. to see that He is faithful
3. to experience something better.

The will of God is like a scroll that is being unrolled a little bit at a time.  You cannot see the end because it hasn’t been unrolled.  That’s the way faith is.

It’s important to point out that authentic faith is not perfect faith.  It just has a perfect object, Christ.

Authentic faith lives as an alien in the land of promise.

9 By faith he lived as an alien in the land of promise, as in a foreign land, dwelling in tents with Isaac and Jacob, fellow heirs of the same promise;

We do not live based on what we see, but rather based upon what we have been promised.

They dwelt in tents.  Not only Abraham but also Isaac and Jacob.  All three generations were alive wandering in this land.  Tents had no foundations.  They were temporary dwelling places that could be moved as needed.

Authentic faith looks for something better.

10 for he was looking for the city which has foundations, whose architect and builder is God.

Abraham was looking beyond to the city that John saw coming down out of heaven from God in Revelation 21:2

And I saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, made ready as a bride adorned for her husband.

This city has a foundation unlike the tents he was living in.  This city has God’s fingerprints and blueprints all over it.  He is the designer and the builder of this city.

Hebrews 11:39 And all these, having gained approval through their faith, did not receive what was promised, 40 because God had provided something better for us, so that apart from us they would not be made perfect.


Previous Page

Series Information

Other sermons in the series